GRA 6035 Mathematics

Reading material

Exams

Lecture plan

Date: Topic: Reading: Exercises:
Aug 09 - Aug 11 FORK 1003: Preparatory course in Mathematics, Economics and Econometrics
Fri Aug 27: 0800-0945, A1-040 Lecture 1: Linear systems and Gaussian elimination. Rank. [E] 1.1 - 1.6 Problem set 1: Mon 17-19, C2-010/020/030
Fri Sep 03: 0800-0945, A1-040 Lecture 2: Vectors and Linear Independence. Vector spaces. [E] 2.1 - 2.7 Problem set 2: Mon 17-19, C2-010/020/030
Fri Sep 10: 0800-0945, A1-040 Lecture 3: Matrices, determinants and minors. [E] 3.1 - 3.4 Problem set 3: Mon 17-19, C2-010/020/030
Fri Sep 17: 0800-0945, A1-040 Lecture 4: Eigenvalues and eigenvectors. Diagonalization. [E] 4.1 - 4.3 Problem set 4
Mon Sep 20: 1700-1945, A1-040 Plenary Session 1: Problems from Lecture 1-4 Key problems TBA [WB] TBA Midterm Exam TBA
Fri Sep 24: 0800-0945, C1-010 Lecture 5: Markov chains. Quadratic Forms and Definiteness. [E] 4.4 - 4.6 Problem set 5: Mon 17-19, C2-010/020/030
Fri Oct 01: 0800-0945, A1-040 Lecture 6: Unconstrained Optimization. [E] 5.1 - 5.7 Problem set 6: Mon 17-19, C2-010/020/030
Fri Oct 08: 0800-0945, A1-040 Lecture 7: Constrained Optimization. Lagrange problems. [E] 6.1 - 6.4 Problem set 7
Fri Oct 08 (date not confirmed) Midterm exam All material from Lecture 1 - Lecture X is relevant for the midterm exam.
Mon Oct 11: 1700-1945, A1-040 Plenary Session 2: Problems from Lecture 5-6 + Midterm exam 10/2018 Key problems TBA [WB] TBA Midterm Exam TBA
Fri Oct 15: 0800-0945, A1-040 Lecture 8: Kuhn-Tucker problems. Envelope Theorems. [E] 6.5 - 6.7 Problem set 8: Mon 17-19, C2-010/020/030
Fri Oct 22: 0800-0945, A1-040 Lecture 9: First order differential equations. Separable and linear differential equations. [E] 7.1 - 7.6 Problem set 9: Mon 17-19, C2-010/020/030
Fri Oct 29: 0800-0945, A1-040 Lecture 10: Exact differential equations. Stability. Second order differential equations. [E] 7.7 - 7.10 Problem set 10
Mon Nov 01: 1700-1945, A1-040 Plenary Session 3: Problems from Lecture 7-9 Key problems TBA [WB] TBA Final Exam TBA
Fri Nov 05: 0800-0945, A1-040 Lecture 11: Difference equations. [E] 8.1 - 8.3 Problem set 11: Mon 17-19, C2-010/020/030
Fri Nov 12: 0800-0945, A1-040 Lecture 12: Systems of differential and difference equations. [E] 9.1 - 9.5 Problem set 12
Mon Nov 15: 1700-1945, A1-040 Plenary Session 4: Problems from Lecture 10-12 Key problems TBA [DE] TBA Final Exam TBA
Fri Nov 19: 0800-0945, A1-040 Lecture 13: Review of important topics. Review session: Mon 17-19, C2-010/020/030
Fri Nov 26: 1500-1745, A1-040 Lecture 14: We go through final exam problems
Thu Dec 02 (date not confirmed) Final exam

January 2022: Not confirmed Midterm exam (retake)
January 2022: Not confirmed Final exam (retake)