EBA 2910 Mathematics for Business Analytics 2019/20

Reading

Exams

Lecture plan

Autumn semester Lecturer Runar Ile (Office B4-023); Office hours Tuesday 10-12 Reading Problems
Wed Aug 21: 1100-1345, D3-191 Lecture 1: Basic algebra. [EMEA] 2.1 - 2.6, 2.8 Problem set 1: Wednesday 14-16, B2-085
Fri Aug 23: 0800-1045, B2-060 Lecture 2: Rates of change. Powers and roots. Interest. [EMEA] 2.2, 10.1, 10.3 Problem set 2
Wed Aug 28: 1100-1345, D3-191 Lecture 3: Present value. Finite geometric series. Annuities and annuity mortages. [EMEA] 10.4.1 - 10.4.3, 10.5.1 - 10.5.4 Problem set 3: Wednesday 14-16, B2-085
Wed Sep 04: 1100-1345, D3-191 Lecture 4: Infinite geometric series and limits. Euler's number and continuous compounding. [EMEA] 10.4.4 - 10.4.10, 4.9.2 Problem set 4: Wednesday 14-16, B2-085
Wed Sep 11: 0800-1045, D3-191 Lecture 5: Linear and quadratic equations. Equations with parameters. Polynomial equations. [EMEA] 3.1 - 3.3, 4.7 Problem set 5: Wednesday 14-16, B2-085
Wed Sep 18: 1100-1345, D3-191 Lecture 6: Polynomial division. Factorization. Rational and radical equations. Inequalities. [EMEA] 4.7, 3.4 - 3.5, 2.6 Problem set 6: Wednesday 14-16, B2-085
Wed Sep 25: 1100-1345, D3-191 Lecture 7: Functions and graphs. Linear and quadratic functions. Cost and revenue functions. [EMEA] 4.1 - 4.6 Problem set 7: Wednesday 14-16, B2-085
Wed Oct 02: 1100-1345, D3-191 Lecture 8: Increasing and descreasing functions. Circles and ellipses. Polynomial functions. [EMEA] 6.3.1 - 6.3.3, 5.4 - 5.5, 4.7 Problem set 8: Wednesday 14-16, B2-085
Fri Oct 04: 0800-1045, B1-030 Lecture 9: Rational functions and asymptotes. Continuity. Composite functions. [EMEA] 4.7, 7.9, 7.8, 5.2 Problem set 9: Wednesday 14-16, B2-085
October 03 - October 11 Course paper EBA29101 - Solutions
Wed Oct 16: 1100-1345, D3-191 Lecture 10: Inverse functions. Exponential functions and logarithms. [EMEA] 5.3, 4.9 - 4.10 Problem set 10: Wednesday 14-16, B2-085
Wed Oct 23: 1100-1345, D3-191 Lecture 11: Tangents. Differentiation and rules for differentiation. [EMEA] 6.1 - 6.4, 6.6 - 6.8 Problem set 11: Wednesday 14-16, B2-085
Wed Oct 30: 1100-1345, D3-191 Lecture 12: Rules for differentiation. Optimization in one variable. [EMEA] 6.10 - 6.11, 8.1 - 8.2, 8.4, 8.6 Problem set 12: Wednesday 14-16, B2-085
Wed Nov 06: 1000-1245, D3-191 Lecture 13: Implicit differentiation. Second order derivatives. Convex and concave functions. [EMEA] 7.1, 6.9, 8.6 - 8.7 Problem set 13: Wednesday 14-16, C2-065
Wed Nov 13: 1100-1345, D3-191 Lecture 14: l'Hôspital's rule. Marginal cost and revenue. Elasticity. [EMEA] 7.12, 8.3, 8.5, 7.7 Problem set 14: Wednesday 14-16, B2-085
Fri Nov 15: 0800-1045, D3-191 Lecture 15: Linearisation. Taylor polynomials. [EMEA] 7.4 - 7.5 Problem set 15
Wed Nov 20: 1100-1345, D3-191 Lecture 16: Review of important topics. Exam problems. Problem set 16

Wed Dec 11: 0900-1200 Multiple choice exam 11/12/2019 - Solutions - Results

Spring semester Lecturer Eivind Eriksen (Office B4-032); Office hours Thu 09-11 Reading Problems
Mon Jan 06: 1400-1745, B2-060 Lecture 17: Indefinite integral and integration rules. Substitution. [EMEA] 9.1, 9.6 Problem Set 17
Wed Jan 08: 1100-1345, B2-030 Lecture 18: Substitution. Integration by parts. Partial fractions. [EMEA] 9.5, 9.6 Problem Set 18: Monday 14-16, B2-050
Wed Jan 15: 1100-1345, B2-030 Lecture 19: Definite integrals and computation of area. Improper integrals. [EMEA] 9.2, 9.3, 9.7 Problem Set 19: Monday 14-16, B2-050
Wed Jan 22: 1100-1345, B2-030 Lecture 20: Economic applications. Summary of integration. [EMEA] 9.4 Problem Set 20: Monday 14-16, B2-050
Wed Jan 29: 1100-1345, B2-030 Lecture 21: Linear systems of equations. Gaussian elimination. [EMEA] 11.2, 15.1, 15.6 Problem Set 21: Monday 14-16, B2-050
Wed Feb 05: 1100-1345, B2-030 Lecture 22: Matrices and Vectors. Determinants. [EMEA] 15.1 - 15.5, 16.1 - 16.5 Problem Set 22: Monday 14-16, B2-050
Wed Feb 12: 1100-1345, B2-045 Lecture 23: Determinants and linear systems. Linear system with parameters. [EMEA] 15.7 - 15.9 Problem Set 23: Monday 14-16, B2-050
Wed Feb 19: 1100-1345, B2-030 Lecture 24: Inverse matrices. [EMEA] 16.6 - 16.9 Problem Set 24: Monday 14-16, B2-050
Wed Feb 26: 1100-1345, B2-030 Lecture 25: Matrix algebra. Exam problems. Problem Set 25: Monday 14-16, B2-050
Mar 04 - Mar 11 Course paper EBA29101 - Solutions (retake exam)
Wed Mar 04: 1100-1345, B2-030 Lecture 26: Functions in several variables. Partial derivatives. [EMEA] 11.1 - 11.4 Problem Set 26: Monday 14-16, B2-050
Wed Mar 11: 1100-1345, B2-030 Lecture 27: Gradients. Level curves. The Hessian matrix. [EMEA] 11.6 - 11.7, 12.3 Problem Set 27 - Solutions

Update regarding COVID-19/corona (updated 21/04/2020)
Mar 13 - Mar 20 Course paper EBA29103 - Solutions
Wed Mar 25: 1100-1345 Lecture 28: Stationary points. Second derivative test. Local and global max/min. [EMEA] 12.8, 13.1 - 13.4 Problem Set 28 - Solutions
Wed Apr 01: 1100-1345 Lecture 29: Constrained optimization. Extreme value theorem. [EMEA] 13.5 - 13.6 Problem Set 29 - Solutions
Wed Apr 15: 1100-1345 Lecture 30: Constrained optimization. Lagrange's method. [EMEA] 14.1 - 14.4 Problem Set 30 - Solutions
Wed Apr 22: 1100-1345 Lecture 31: Lagrange problems. Lagrange multipliers. Problem Set 31 - Solutions

Thu Jun 11: 1200-1500 Lecture 32: Review. Exam problem MET11807 05/2019 - Video
Fri Jun 19: 0900-1600 Final exam EBA09101 - Solutions (digital home exam, pass/fail) All material in the course. Notes on exam preparation.