EBA 2910 Mathematics for Business Analytics

Reading

Exams

Lecture plan

Spring semester Lecturer Eivind Eriksen (Office B4-032); Office hours by appointment Reading Problems
All lectures Live Stream: See link in you timetable
Fri Jan 15: 0800-0945, B2-060 Lecture 17: Indefinite integral and integration rules. Substitution. [EMEA] 9.1, 9.6 Problem Set 17: Friday 10-14, Zoom
Fri Jan 22: 0800-0945, C2-060 Lecture 18: Substitution. Integration by parts. Partial fractions. [EMEA] 9.5, 9.6 Problem Set 18: Friday 10-14, Zoom
Fri Jan 29: 0800-0945, Zoom Lecture 19: Definite integrals and computation of area. Improper integrals. [EMEA] 9.2, 9.3, 9.7 Problem Set 19: Friday 10-14, Zoom
Fri Feb 05: 0800-0945, A1-040 Lecture 20: Economic applications. Summary of integration. [EMEA] 9.4 Problem Set 20: Friday 10-14, Zoom
Fri Feb 12: 1000-1145, A1-040 Lecture 21: Linear systems of equations. Gaussian elimination. [EMEA] 11.2, 15.1, 15.6 Problem Set 21: Friday 12-14, Zoom
Fri Feb 19: 1000-1145, Zoom Lecture 22: Matrices and Vectors. Determinants. [EMEA] 15.1 - 15.5, 16.1 - 16.5 Problem Set 22: Friday 12-14, Zoom
Fri Feb 26: 1000-1145, C1-000 Lecture 23: Determinants and linear systems. Linear system with parameters. Vector equations. [EMEA] 15.7 - 15.9 Problem Set 23: Friday 12-14, Zoom
Fri Mar 05: 1000-1145, C1-000 Lecture 24: Matrix multiplication. Inverse matrices. [EMEA] 16.6 - 16.9 Problem Set 24: Friday 12-14, Zoom
Mar 5 - Mar 12 Course paper EBA2901 (retake) - Solutions
Fri Mar 12: 1000-1145, C1-000 Lecture 25: Matrix algebra. Exam MET1180 05/2018 Question 3. Problem Set 25: Friday 12-14, Zoom
Fri Mar 19: 1000-1145, C1-000 Lecture 26: Functions in several variables. Partial derivatives. [EMEA] 11.1 - 11.4 Problem Set 26: Friday 12-14, Zoom
Mar 15 - Mar 22 Course paper EBA2903 - Solutions
Fri Mar 26: 1000-1145, C1-000 Lecture 27: Partial derivatives and the Hessian matrix. Gradients. Level curves. [EMEA] 11.6 - 11.7, 12.3 Problem Set 27: Friday 12-14, Zoom
Fri Apr 09: 1000-1145, A1-040 Lecture 28: Stationary points. Second derivative test. Local and global max/min. [EMEA] 12.8, 13.1 - 13.4 Problem Set 28: Friday 12-14, Zoom
Mon Apr 12: 1300-1445, B2-030 Lecture C: Linear approximations. Exam MET11803 05/2017 Question 4. Exam MET11803 12/2017 Question 4. Padlet [EMEA] 13.5 - 13.6 Problem Set C
Fri Apr 16: 1000-1145, C1-000 Lecture 29: Constrained optimization. Extreme value theorem. [EMEA] 14.1 - 14.4 Problem Set 29: Friday 12-14, D1-065
Fri Apr 23: 1000-1145, C1-000 Lecture 30: Constrained optimization. Lagrange's method. [EMEA] 14.1 - 14.4 Problem Set 30: Friday 12-14, D1-065
Fri Apr 30: 1000-1145, C1-000 Lecture 31: Lagrange problems. Lagrange multipliers. [EMEA] 14.1 - 14.4 Problem Set 31: Friday 12-14, D1-065
May 2021 Lecture 32: Exam problems. Revision.
Fri Jun 02: 0900-1400 Final exam EBA29104 All material in the course.

Autumn semester Lecturer Runar Ile (Office B4-023); Office hours Friday 13-15 Reading Problems
Wed Aug 19: 1000-1145, B2-060 Lecture 1: Basic algebra. [EMEA] 2.1 - 2.6, 2.8 Problem set 1: Wednesday 13-15, CU1-067
Wed Aug 26: 1000-1145, B2-060 Lecture 2: Rates of change. Powers and roots. Interest. [EMEA] 2.2, 10.1, 10.3 Problem set 2: Wednesday 13-15, CU1-067
Tue Sep 01: 0800-0945, B2-040 Lecture 3: Present value. Finite geometric series. Annuities and annuity mortages. [EMEA] 10.4.1 - 10.4.3, 10.5.1 - 10.5.4 Problem set 3
Wed Sep 02: 1000-1145, B2-060 Lecture 4: Infinite geometric series and limits. Euler's number and continuous compounding. [EMEA] 10.4.4 - 10.4.10, 4.9.2 Problem set 4: Wednesday 13-15, CU1-067
Wed Sep 09: 1000-1145, B2-060 Lecture 5: Linear and quadratic equations. Equations with parameters. Polynomial equations. [EMEA] 3.1 - 3.3, 4.7 Problem set 5: Wednesday 13-15, CU1-067
Wed Sep 16: 1000-1145, C1-020 Lecture 6: Polynomial division. Factorization. Rational and radical equations. Inequalities. [EMEA] 4.7, 3.4 - 3.5, 2.6 Problem set 6: Wednesday 13-15, CU1-067
Wed Sep 23: 1000-1145, C1-020 Lecture 7: Functions and graphs. Linear and quadratic functions. Cost and revenue functions. [EMEA] 4.1 - 4.6 Problem set 7: Wednesday 13-15, CU1-067
Wed Sep 30: 1000-1145, B2-060 Lecture 8: Increasing and descreasing functions. Circles and ellipses. Polynomial functions. [EMEA] 6.3.1 - 6.3.3, 5.4 - 5.5, 4.7 Problem set 8: Wednesday 13-15, CU1-067
Tue Oct 06: 0800-0945, B2-040 Lecture 9: Rational functions and asymptotes. Continuity. Composite functions. [EMEA] 4.7, 7.9, 7.8, 5.2 Problem set 9
Wed Oct 07: 1000-1145, B2-060 Lecture 10: Inverse functions. Exponential functions and logarithms. [EMEA] 5.3, 4.9 - 4.10 Problem set 10: Wednesday 13-15, CU1-067
October 09 - October 16 Course paper EBA29101 - Solutions Course paper: Wednesday 13-15, CU1-067
Tue Oct 20: 0800-0945, B2-060 Lecture 11: Tangents. Differentiation and rules for differentiation. [EMEA] 6.1 - 6.4, 6.6 - 6.8 Problem set 11: Wednesday 13-15, CU1-067
October 19 - October 26 Course paper EBA29103 (retake) - Solutions
Tue Oct 27: 0800-0945, B2-040 Lecture 12: Rules for differentiation. Optimization in one variable. [EMEA] 6.10 - 6.11, 8.1 - 8.2, 8.4, 8.6
Wed Oct 28: 1000-1145, B2-060 Lecture 13: Implicit differentiation. Second order derivatives. Convex and concave functions. [EMEA] 7.1, 6.9, 8.6 - 8.7 Problem set 13: Wednesday 13-15, CU1-067
Wed Nov 04: 1000-1145, B2-060 Lecture 14: l'Hôspital's rule. Marginal cost and revenue. Elasticity. [EMEA] 7.12, 8.3, 8.5, 7.7 Problem set 14: Wednesday 13-15, CU1-067
Mon Nov 09: 0800-0945, B2-060 Lecture A: Problems from Problem set 14
Wed Nov 11: 1000-1145, B2-060 Lecture 15: Linearisation. Taylor polynomials. [EMEA] 7.4 - 7.5 Problem set 15: Wednesday 13-15, CU1-067
Wed Nov 18: 1000-1145, B2-060 Lecture 16: Review of important topics. Exam problems. Problem set 16: Wednesday 13-15, CU1-067
Mon Nov 23 Lecture B: Review for the exam
Thu Dec 10: 1400-1700 Midterm exam EBA29102 - Solutions
Fri Dec 18: Oral exam Final exam EBA29104 (retake)